CHA logo



The California Junior Holstein Association

includes 200 of California's finest Dairy Kids!


Search Listings



Forgot your password?




Holstein USA News:

Click below for the latest updates from Holstein USA


High Scoring 2 Year Olds in CA (as of May 31)

New EX Cows in CA (as of May 31)

National Show Judges List and Judges Conferences information


Your area Holstein USA reps:


Northern CA

Dennis Edlund: 916-207-4796

Southern CA

Angie Kennedy: 559-909-2220



holstein usa logo



2011 CJHA Officers

President: Tony Lopes

Vice President: Caitlin Lopes

Secretary: Colleen Allen

Treasurer: Eric Migliazzo

Reporters: Emilie Strand,               Katie Migliazzo

Historians: Justin Bopp,         Dominic Balistreri


Cow Camp Information

2010 cow camp

This summer's Cow Camp will be held July 6-8 in the Santa Rosa area.  Check out the funfilled schedule of events here: 2011 Cow Camp Schedule

Registration is due JULY 1, and limited to the first 80 received.  Download application here.


Junior News Archives








Current Junior News

2011 California State Junior Holstein Show

The showmanship & Fitting Contest was held on Thursday afternoon.  Congratulations to all of the participants on their hard work! Click below to enlarge pictures and placings from the contest.


Junior Champion and Reserve Junior Champion

jr champion jr show

Claquato-RH DS Ecstasy (Sr Yearling), Rocco Cunningham, with the Toledo family presenting the Brock Toledo Memorial Trophy.

Reserve Junior Champion went to Ta-Ro-Lee Atwood Sun (Sr Calf) exhibited by Case Vyfhuizen.

Intermediate Champion and Reserve Intermediate Champion

Int Champion Jr

Whitney Oaks Roy Bella, (Jr 3 Year Old) Michael Davis; Paulo-Bro-SP Shari red, (Sr 2 Year Old), Macey Pearson.

Senior and Grand Champion and Reserve Senior and Grand Champion

sr champion jr

            Gleneil Mr Samuelo Bo Doll, (5 Year old) Michael Davis;  La-Foster Dundee Addie, (4 Year old) Rocco Cunnningham.

Premier Breeder & Premier Exhibitor of Junior Show:

Rocco Cunningham


CONGRATULATIONS to these junior members on their recent awards in the industry!

* Mandy Brazil was named one of Holstein USA's National Distinguished Junior Member Semi-Finalists

* Tony Lopes earned 1st Place in the State FFA Creed Competition



State Holstein Convention Results

convention group

California Junior Holstein members had a great time at the 2011 State Holstein Convention, held January 27-29 in Bass Lake.

Convention started off on Thursday with interviews for numerous scholarships, and the Breeder of the Future Awards, followed by the Prepared Public Speaking Contest.

Thursday evening the junior members enjoyed a pizza party and Black & White Bunco.

Friday featured the competitive Dairy Bowl Contest, with teams representing Merced County and the Redwood Empire Holstein Association. 

The following scholarships and awards were presented at the Annual Senior Banquet on Friday evening, recognizing outstanding Junior Members.


Cortney Borba Memorial Scholarship

Recipient Amanda Moretti, with Frank Borba and Natalie Borba Silva

 CBorba scholarship


Milli Rollin Memorial Scholarship

Recipient Emilie Strand mrollin scholarship


Earl Graham Memorial Scholarship

Recipient Philip Fagundesegraham scholarship


amanda founders scholarship  Founder's Scholarships:

Amanda Moretti,

 Rocco Cunningham







rocco founders









Breeder of the Future Girl: Deena Migliazzo 

BOF girl Deena Migliazzo

 Breeder of the Future Boy: Brandon Almeida

BOF boy Brandon Almeida


At the Junior Awards Banquet, numerous awards and contest winners were presented.  The Junior banquet included the competitive Dairy Bowl finals for the Senior Division, Speaker Tony Timmons from Progressive Dairy Solutions, and some impromptu stand-up comedy from junior members!


World Wide Sires Scholarship

Recipient Amanda Moretti, with Theresa Machado of WWS.

WWS scholarship

Junior Association Scholarships

Recipients Eric Migliazzo, Loren Migliazzo

jr assn schol


Premier Junior Scholarshippremier jr schol

Recipient Collin Abraham with Karen Knutsen of Holstein World














Production Awards:

Home Bred Excellent: Amanda Moretti

Lifetime Production Awards: Samantha Gambonini, Alex Gambonini, Mandy Brazil


Young Breeder of the Future Girl: Lauren McCullough  

 Young Breeder of the Future Boy: Donovan Miguel


Speech Contest Winners:

In the Prepared Public Speaking Contest, 1st Place in the Senior Division was won by Emilie Strand. In the Intermediate Division, 1st Place went to Katie Migliazzo, 2nd to Tony Lopes.  Alexandria Loped took frst Place in the Junior Division, Christian Cunningham was 2nd Place.

speech winners


Dairy Bowl Written Exam High Scores: 

The Dairy Bowl contest started off with the written exam on Thursday evening.  Congratulations to the contestants who earned the High Scores-

Novice Division: 1st- Kiara Gilardi, 2nd- Celeste Lopes, 3rd- Walter Borba, 4th- Selina Lopes, 5th- Claire Forte

Junior Division: 1st- Alexandra Gambonini, 2nd- Frankie Gambonin, 3rd- Wyatt Cotta, 4th- Michael Bopp, 5th- tie Garrett Cotta, Christian Cunningham

Senior Division: 1st- Amanda Moretti, 2nd- Caitlin Lopes, 3rd- tie Elise Regusci, Elisabeth Regusci, 4th- Tony Lopes, 5th- Caitlin Allen

dairy bowl with Marylin

 A huge thank you to Moderator of the Dairy Bowl Contest, Marilyn Herzog, who assisted with the Dairy Bowl Contest for her 31st year!

Dairy Bowl Champion Teams:

Novice Division: Walter Borba, Selina Lopes- captain, Donovan Miguel, Kiara Gilardi

Junior Division: Christian Cunningham, Frankie Gambonini, Alex Gambonini

Senior Division: Justin Bopp, Caitlin Lopes-captain, Elisabeth Regusci

Folding Display Contest

A new addition to this year's State Holstein Convention, congratulations to the winners of the Folding Display Contest:

Junior Division: 1st Place Alexandria Gambonini, 2nd Place Annie Neles

Senior Division: 1st Place Emilie Strand

Dairy Jeopardy Contest:

The convention contests concluded on Saturday morning, with the Dairy Jeopardy Contest.  A personal favorite of mine as it combines knowledge, skill, luck and smart wagering!

jr jeopardy

Junior Jeopardy Winners:

1st- Elisabeth Regusci, 2nd- Kiara Gilardi, 3rd- Alexandra Gambonini, 4th- Wyatt Cotta, 5th- Elise Regusci

int jeopardy

Intermediate Jeopardy Winners:

1st- Tony Lopes, 2nd- Caitlin Lopes, 3rd- Eric Migliazzo, 4th- Frankie Gambonini

Honorary Junior Member

A special presentation was made to a lady who has had a significant impact on the CJHA through her commitment to activities, support, encouragement, and positive attitude. (and lets not forget famous brownies ;)  Thank you Kristi Migliazzo for all that you do for the CJHA!

hon jr member



first image second image third image fourth image fifth image sixth image seventh image eighth image



themed object
Welcome to our new website!