CHA logo



The California Junior Holstein Association

includes 200 of California's finest Dairy Kids!




Holstein USA News:

Click below for the latest updates from Holstein USA

US Holsteins- the Breed of Choice

High Scoring 2 Year Olds

New EX Cows

National Show Judges List and Judges Conferences information


Your area Holstein USA reps:

Northern CA
Alan Graves: 712-574-6120


Southern CA

* Currently seeking representative for this position.


holstein usa logo

2014 CJHA Officers

President: Alex Gambonini

Vice President: Macey Pearson

Secretary: Hannah Van Dyk   

Treasurer:  Hannah Young      

Reporters: Kiara Gilardi,                    Hayden Costa

Historians: Bailey Allen,          Ellorine Carle 



Annual Summer Cow Camp

cow camp group 2011

Each summer, CJHA members gather for an exciting few days full of fun, games, friends and education. 


Junior News Archives












Current Junior News

Junior Planning Conference
 at John's Incredible Pizza, November 1st


Cow Camp

was held July 1-3 at Cal Poly, SLO

cow camp group at dairy
Sincere thank you to the Cal Poly Dairy Department for hosting us,
and organizing some great educational  activities!
Click here to see more pictures!!


2014 CA State Holstein Convention Results

California Junior Holstein members had a great time at the 2014 State Holstein Convention, hosted by the Merced County Holstein Club January 30- February 1 in Monterey
* Convention started off on Thursday with interviews for numerous scholarships, and the Breeder of the Future Awards, followed by the Prepared Public Speaking Contest, dairy bowl written exam and business meeting.
* Thursday evening Host Night was an exciting visit to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, enjoyed as a unique venue for the State Sale.
* Friday featured the competitive Dairy Bowl Contest, with teams representing Merced County, Redwood Empire Holstein Club, and South San Joaquin Holstein Club.  Dairy Jeopardy competition was also held on Friday afternoon.
*Saturday concluded the convention an Awards Ceremony

The following scholarships and awards were presented at the Annual Senior Banquet on Friday evening, recognizing outstanding Junior Members:


Cortney Borba Memorial Scholarships

Alison Sherman, Tony Lopes


Milli Rollin Memorial Scholarships

 Colleen Allen, Frankie Gambonini


Earl Graham Memorial Scholarship

Eric Migliazzo


Wilbur Gomes Memorial Scholarship

Tony Lopes


Founder's Scholarships:

Katie Migliazzo, Frankie Gambonini


World Wide Sires Scholarships:

Colleen Allen, Caitlin Lopes, Vincent Migliazzo, Tony Lopes


Breeder of the Future Girl: Carly Olufs

At the Junior Awards ceremony, numerous awards and contest winners were presented. 

Junior Association Scholarships

Caitlin Lopes, Toni Silva, Alison Sherman, Vincent Migliazzo

Dairy Bowl Scholarships

Ellorine Carle, Colleen Allen, Tony Lopes, Caitlin Lopes

Tony Lopes also received the  Premier Junior Scholarship

Herd Achievement Awards:

Lifetime Production Award: cow owned by Frankie Gambonini
Progressive Breeder Stars: Alex Gambonini (2), Hannah Van Dyk (2), Samantha Gambonini
30,000 lb. Cow Award: Samantha Gambonini
Junior Breeder of an Excellent: Hannah Van Dyk

Young Breeder of the Future Girl: Annie Neles



Speech Contest Winners:

1st Place Intermediate Division was won by Tony Lopes
 1st Place in the Junior Division was a tie with Rachel Mancebo and Hayley Fernandes

Dairy Bowl Written Exam High Scores: 

Novice Division:

1st- tie- Eva Van Dyk and Sianna Barrett; 2nd-Jacob Fernandes 3rd-Grace Wilbur; 4th-tie-Tyler Dunn, and Rachel Mancebo;
5th-tie- Kylie Konyn and Deven Silveira
Junior Division:

1st-Macey Pearson, 2nd-Hayley Fernandes, 3rd- Hannah Mancebo,
4th- Abbi Prins, 5th- Luke Van Dyk
Senior Division:

1st- tie-Alex Gambonini, Kiara Gilardi and Hannah Van Dyk; 2nd-tie-Colleen Allen and Frankie Gambonini; 3rd-tie- Elise Regusci and Eli Warner; 5th- Ellorine Carle

Dairy Bowl Champion Teams:

Novice Division:  South San Joaquin: Jacob Fernandes, Tyler Dunn, Grace Wilbur, Eva Van Dyk

Junior Division:  South San Joaquin #2: Hayley Fernandes,
Abbi Prins, Matthew Rosa, Tanner Vitorino

Senior Division:
Merecd: Colleen Allen, Bailey Allen,
Hannah Young, Kiara Gilardi

Folding Display Contest

 Junior Division: 1st Place- Siana Barret
2nd Place- Lucas Cheda


Dairy Jeopardy Contest:

Junior Jeopardy Winners:
1st- Hayley Fernandes, 2nd- Siana Barrett, 3rd- Hannah Mancebo,
4th-Jacob Fernandes, 5th- Eva Van Dyk
Intermediate Jeopardy Winners:
1st- Alex Gambonini, 2nd- Hayden Costa, 3rd Kiara Gilardi, 4th-Macey Pearson, 5th- Hannah Van Dyk

Congratulations to ALL of the convention participants on their hard work and involvement! 
~ from your advisors  Kirsten  &  Kate

Congratulations to our CJHA members who competed at the

2013 National Holstein Convention in Indianapolis on your tremendous accomplishments!

see pictures here
Dairy Jeopardy: 1st Place Senior~Tony Lopes
Junior Dairy Bowl Team: 2nd Place~ Hannah Van Dyk, Hayley Fernandes,
Hayden Costa, Macey Pearson
Senior Dairy Bowl Team: National Champions~ Alex Gambonini, Ellorine Carle, Rocco Cunningham, Taylor Pires
Speech Contest: 3rd Place Intermediate~ Hannah Van Dyk
3rd Place Senior~ Taylor Pires
Folding Display Contest: 3rd Place Junior~ Hayley Fernandes
State Digital Scrapbook: 4th Place~ prepared by
Elise and Elisabeth Regusci
DJM Finalist and NHWSO Scholarship recipient: Rocco Cunningham
 **Watch his awesome video application here on youtube.


2013 CC logo

We had a GREAT time, learned about the dairy industry, and enjoyed friends.  Thank you to all of the folks at the Fresno State Dairy facility for hosting us, the chaperones for your time and energy :) and most importanttly the campers who joined us, and their love for cows!
2013 Cow Camp group

2013 CA State Show Showmanship Contest

overall champion FS
Overall Champion Senior Shomanship & Fitting Champion
Tony Garcia, Jr. Pictured with Macey Brock Pearson, Rondi Chambers and Loretta Toledo,sponsors of the Brock Toledo Memorial Trophy.

sr fitting
Senior Showmanship winners who also competed in the
Fitting Contest

Tony Garcia, Jr.,Regina Pozzi, Brandon Almeida, judge Manuel Silveira, Frankie Gambonini, Caitlin Lopes, and Dairy Princess katie Migliazzo

int showmanship
Intermediate Division Showmanship winners
5th Carly Olufs, 4th Rebecca Sanders, 3rd Hannah Van Dyk,
 2nd Luke Van Dyk, 1st Alex Gambonini

jr showmanship
Junior Division Showmanship winners
5th Tyler Dunn, 4th Eva Van Dyk, 3rd Aspen Silva,
2nd Grace Wilbur, 1st Cort Rowley

first image second image third image fourth image fifth image sixth image seventh image eighth image



themed object
Welcome to our new website!