2013 Junior News and Events

Congratulations to our CJHA members who competed at the 2013 National Holstein Convention in Indianapolis on your tremendous accomplishments!
see pictures here

Dairy Jeopardy: 1st Place Senior~Tony Lopes
Junior Dairy Bowl Team: 2nd Place~ Hannah Van Dyk, Hayley Fernandes,
Hayden Costa, Macey Pearson
Senior Dairy Bowl Team: National Champions~ Alex Gambonini, Ellorine Carle, Rocco Cunningham, Taylor Pires
Speech Contest: 3rd Place Intermediate~ Hannah Van Dyk
3rd Place Senior~ Taylor Pires
Folding Display Contest: 3rd Place Junior~ Hayley Fernandes
State Digital Scrapbook: 4th Place~ prepared by
Elise and Elisabeth Regusci
DJM Finalist and NHWSO Scholarship recipient: Rocco Cunningham
 **Watch his awesome video application here on youtube.


2013 CA State Holstein Convention Results

California Junior Holstein members had a great time at the 2013 State Holstein Convention, hosted by the South San Joaquin Holstein Club January 24-26 in Visalia. 
* Convention started off on Thursday with interviews for numerous scholarships, and the Breeder of the Future Awards, followed by the Prepared Public Speaking Contest, dairy bowl written exam and business meeting.
* Thursday evening Host Night was a huge hit, as the juniors played at Adventure Park!
* Friday featured the competitive Dairy Bowl Contest, with teams representing Merced County, Redwood Empire Holstein Club, and South San Joaquin Holstein Club.  Dairy Jeopardy competition was also held on Friday afternoon.
*Saturday concluded the convention an Awards Breakfast, and the state sale.
Cheers to enthusiastic Junior chairpeople Chris and Jolene Van Dyk for organizing a fun event!

The following scholarships and awards were presented at the Annual Senior Banquet on Friday evening, recognizing outstanding Junior Members.


Cortney Borba Memorial Scholarship

Recipient Vincent Migliazzo

Milli Rollin Memorial Scholarship

Recipient Amanda Moretti

Founder's Scholarships:

Recipient Taylor Pires

World Wide Sires Scholarships:

Recipients Frankie Gambonin, Alison Sherman,Katie Migliazzo

Breeder of the Future Girl: Elise Regusci

Breeder of the Future Boy: Donavan Miguel


At the Junior Awards Breakfast, numerous awards and contest winners were presented. 


Junior Association Scholarship

Recipient Frankie Gambonini

Premier Junior Scholarship

Recipient Amanda Moretti

Dairy Bowl Scholarships

Recipients Frankie Gambonini, Katie Migliazzo


Herd Achievement Awards:

Lifetime Production Award: cow owned by Samantha Gambonini
Progressive Breeder Stars: Alex Gambonini
30,000 lb. Cow Award: Alex Gambonini
Junior Breeder of an Excellent: Frankie Gambonini, Samantha Gambonini

Young Breeder of the Future Girl: Kylie Konyn                    

Young Breeder of the Future Boy: Cort Rowley


Speech Contest Winners:

1st Place in the Senior Division awarded to Taylor Pires.
 1st Place Intermediate Division was won by Hannah Van Dyk.
 1st Place in the Junior Division to Samantha Gambonini.

Dairy Bowl Written Exam High Scores: 

Novice Division:
1st- Haley Ballez, 2nd-Hannah Mancebo, 3rd-Tyler Dunn, 4th-tie- MacKenzie Elmer, Eva Van Dyk, 5th-tie-Jacob Fernandes, Holly Ballez, Kylie Konyn, Amanda King, Grace Wilbur
Junior Division:
1st-Hannah Van Dyk, 2nd-Hayley Fernandes, 3rd- Carly Olufs, 4th-Macey Pearson, 5th- Clayton Arntz
Senior Division:
1st- Alex Gambonini, 2nd- Kiara Gilardi, 3rd- Frankie Gambonini 4th- Courtney Faria, 5th- Elisabeth Regusci

Dairy Bowl Champion Teams:

Novice Division:  Hannah Mancebo, Rachel Mancebo, Holly Ballez, Haley Ballez
Junior Division:  Lauren McCullough, Celeste Lopes, Claire Forte, Hayley Fernandes
Senior Division: Alex Gambonini, Frankie Gambonini, Ellorine Carle, Courtney Faria

Folding Display Contest

 Junior Division: 1st Place- Hayley Fernandes,
2nd Place-
Grace Ielmorini
Senior Division: 1st Place- Rylin Lindahl

Dairy Jeopardy Contest:

The convention contests concluded on Saturday morning, with the Dairy Jeopardy Contest. 
 This individual competition combines knowledge, skill, luck, and smart wagering.
Junior Jeopardy Winners:
1st- Bailey Allen, 2nd- Grace Ielmorini, 3rd- Selina Lopes, 4th-Tyler Dunn, 5th- Hayley Fernandes
Intermediate Jeopardy Winners:
1st- Caitlin Lopes, 2nd- Alex Gambonini, 3rd Elisabeth Regusci, 4th- Elise Regusci
Senior Jeopardy Winner:
1st- Tony Lopes


Congratulations to ALL of the convention participants on their hard work and involvement! 
~ from your advisors  Kirsten  &  Kate


CJHA Planning Conference

was held Saturday, November 10th at John's Incredible Pizza in Modesto.
Thanks to a great group of members and parents who attended, and helped to plan the upcoming year's events!

planning conference group

2013 CC logo
We had a GREAT time, learned about the dairy industry, and enjoyed friends.  Thank you to all of the folks at the Fresno State Dairy facility for hosting us, the chaperones for your time and energy :) and most importanttly the campers who joined us, and their love for cows!
2013 Cow Camp group

2013 CA State Show Showmanship Contest

overall champion FS
Overall Champion Senior Shomanship & Fitting Champion
Tony Garcia, Jr. Pictured with Macey Brock Pearson, Rondi Chambers and Loretta Toledo,sponsors of the Brock Toledo Memorial Trophy.

sr fitting
Senior Showmanship winners who also competed in the
Fitting Contest

Tony Garcia, Jr.,Regina Pozzi, Brandon Almeida, judge Manuel Silveira, Frankie Gambonini, Caitlin Lopes, and Dairy Princess katie Migliazzo

int showmanship
Intermediate Division Showmanship winners
5th Carly Olufs, 4th Rebecca Sanders, 3rd Hannah Van Dyk,
 2nd Luke Van Dyk, 1st Alex Gambonini

jr showmanship
Junior Division Showmanship winners
5th Tyler Dunn, 4th Eva Van Dyk, 3rd Aspen Silva,
2nd Grace Wilbur, 1st Cort Rowley





first image second image third image fourth image fifth image sixth image seventh image eighth image



themed object